Recent Posts

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

*Grabby Hands* Blog Tour & Review - Acting On Impulse by Mia Sosa



Title: Acting on Impulse
(Love on Cue #1)
Author: Mia Sosa
Publisher: Avon Impulse
Release Date: September 19th, 2017
Genre:  Adult Contemporary Romance

After a very public breakup with a media-hungry politician, fitness trainer Tori Alvarez escapes to Aruba for rest, relaxation, and copious amounts of sex on the beach—the cocktail, that is. She vows to keep her vacation a man-free zone… but when a cute guy is seated next to her on the plane, Tori can’t resist a little harmless flirting.


Hollywood heartthrob Carter Stone underwent a dramatic physical transformation for his latest role and it’s clear his stunning seat mate doesn’t recognize the man beneath the shaggy beard and extra lean frame. Now Carter needs help rebuilding his buff physique and Tori is perfect for the job. It doesn’t hurt that she makes his pulse pound in more ways than one.

Sparks are flying, until a pesky paparazzo reveals Carter’s identity. Tori is hurt and pissed. She wants nothing to do with another man in the limelight, but she’s still got to whip him into shape. Can Carter convince Tori he’s worth the threat to her privacy that comes with dating a famous actor, or will Tori chisel him down to nothing before he even gets the chance?
Grab the popcorn . . .

Buy from HCBuy from AmazonBuy from Barnes   Noble

Buy from GoogleBuy from WalmartBuy from iBooks


As I crawl into the tiny space—it’s been a while since I’ve traveled coach class—I catch a whiff of her scent and close my eyes. Not sure if it’s perfume, body wash, or what, but it smells like vanilla and reminds me of the candles my mother used to buy at the local craft store. That right there is a sign. My mother would most heartily approve of this woman.
Now to find out her name.
I turn in my seat, prepping myself for a short conversation—too much too soon isn’t part of the playbook—but then I realize she’s not next to me. I raise myself off the cushion and pretend to stretch as I turn my head to scan the back of the plane. She’s a few rows back, standing and chatting with a guy who doesn’t appear to have anyone sitting next to him.
Oh, hell no.
Do I have to go to the restroom? You bet.
Before I stand, a bell rings and a flight attendant announces that there will be a short delay while the ground crew clears debris from the runway. Perfect.
I rise and make my way through the aisle, pushing down the bill of my baseball cap so no one notices me. But, of course, someone does. For all the wrong reasons.
A little girl with huge brown eyes and a mop of bright red hair tugs on her mother’s shirt and says, “Mommy, that man looks like a bear.”
The cutie’s pronouncement is loud enough that several nearby passengers chuckle. Even the object of my fascination turns and laughs. I grin at the kid, and she growls in her best imitation of a bear. So freaking adorable, that girl. Enjoying her fascination with my beard, I channel my inner Leonardo DiCaprio and growl right back.
Now I’ve done it.
The little girl’s eyes go round, and her eyes water. Then she lets out a shriek like the hounds of hell are chasing her. Unfortunately, I’m the hounds, and everyone on the plane, including my future wife, knows it.
The girl’s mother tries to quiet her, rocking her and telling her everything will be okay. Their seatmate, meanwhile, throws daggers at me with his eyes.
“He’s so scary looking,” the little girl chants over and over into her mother’s chest.
“Sir,” the flight attendant says behind me, “we’re getting ready to take off soon. Could you please return to your seat?”
Bewildered by the past ten minutes of my life, I nod and amble back to my row. How the hell did things go south that quickly? Fantasy woman returns, and my stomach drops when I catch the look of sympathy on her face. I slide down into my seat, give her a pathetic smile, and cover my face with my baseball cap as though I’m settling in for a nap. I need to regroup before I can speak to her. And I refuse to listen to the preflight safety demonstration unless the attendant can teach me how to save me from myself.
So now I know another thing: Whatever I tell my kids about how I met their mother, it’s going to be a lie. A big, fat fucking lie.
4 “Take me to Aruba” Stars

ARC provided by the author

Thank you!!

Looking for a fun, sexy, refreshing read with a sassy Latina main character and a swoony Hollywood love interest? Then you got it. Even if you weren’t looking for exactly that, you still want to read Acting on Impulse. Trust me.

I read my first Mia Sosa book last year, and I truly enjoyed how she wrote what I called “realistic romances”. For me, those are stories you can see yourself or someone you know living. Instead of that big drama that I love in angst reads, in Mia Sosa’s books I always find relatable problems/situations that I believe most women can find themselves into. Even though Acting on Impulse featured a Hollywood star as the love interest, the way he met and fell in love with the main character was still fairly “normal” (not impossible to happen).

Honestly, I think there’s something special about authors who can write sexy, swoony romances that are still relatable.

And Acting on Impulse had all of that.

For me, the fun element was the one I noticed first. The first chapter is written from Hollywood heartthrob Carter Stone’s POV, and the voice was light, funny and sexy.


There was insta-lust when he first sees fitness trainer Tori Alvarez on the plane, but I didn’t mind it because it didn’t feel like he was taking it too seriously. The way he called her “his future” wife and kept thinking about how he’d tell this story to their grandchildren was sort of adorable, and a lot less creepy than one might think. The main reason it worked for me was because of the sweet and fun theme that followed the story from start to finish, and also because Carter was a real sweetheart and being inside his head was a pleasure.

Tori’s POV chapters were also extremely enjoyable. She was a smart, confident and funny woman, and she made me smile and laugh quite a lot. She was sassy in a non-annoying way, which, trust me, isn’t easy to pull off.


Another thing I enjoyed about Tori was how centered and matured she acted. When I thought she’d freak out over something, she found a composed and mature way to deal with it—be it her problems with her family, her relationship with Carter, her breakup with her ex or even the annoying reporters. It helped keep the story light, and it didn’t hurt the fun element, because the heart of the story wasn’t the drama, but the romance.

And I loved the romance. It was refreshing to see how it started—as two strangers forming some sort of heated friendship in a hot location. Side note: this story left me craving a visit to Aruba! It was even more refreshing to see how it developed. Everyone knows I’m a fan of slow burn, and this had a little bit of it. Even though Tori and Carter were dying to jump in bed, they kept their hands to each other for a while, and that only made me want to see them together more. A little torture is good for this romance-reader heart.

One last thing I want to say about this story is how the ending surprised me. I thought Carter’s movie plot was going to go one way, but it ended up being completely different from what I expected. He got his happy ending in all aspects of his life, obviously, but not in an obvious way.


Overall, Acting on Impulse was another win for me when it comes to Mia Sosa’s books, and I’m extremely happy I got the chance to read it.



Mia Sosa is an award-winning contemporary romance writer and 2015 Romance Writers of America® Golden Heart® Finalist. Her books have received praise and recognition from Library Journal, The Washington Post, Book Riot, Bustle, The Book List Reader, and more.

A former First Amendment and media lawyer, Mia practiced for more than a decade before trading her suits for loungewear (okay, okay, they’re sweatpants). Now she strives to write fun and flirty stories about imperfect characters finding their perfect match.
Mia lives in Maryland with her husband, their two daughters, and an adorable puppy who finally sleeps through the night. For more information about Mia and her books, visit www.miasosa.com

websitefacebooktwittergoodreadsAmazon icon

Celebration Giveaway!
To celebrate the release of ACTING ON IMPULSE, the author is giving away a $25 gift card!  ENTER NOW!

PTPR New Logo - Email 2

Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Release Blitz with Giveaway - On a Tuesday by Whitney G.

On a Tuesday
by Whitney G. 
Publication Date: September 19, 2017 
Genres: Adult Contemporary Romance (Second Chance) 
Cover Design: Najla Qamber Designs 
Model Credit: Andrea Denver
We met on a Tuesday. Became best friends, then lovers, on a Tuesday. And everything fell apart on a Tuesday… Charlotte Taylor has three automatic strikes in my book: 1) She hates me. She also claims that I’m a “domineering jerk with a huge, overbearing ego.” (I do have something huge. It’s not my ego, though.) 2) She takes our mandatory tutoring sessions way too seriously. 3) She’s sexy as hell…And a virgin. At least, those were her strikes before our study sessions started lasting longer than they were supposed to. Until one innocent kiss became a hundred dirty ones, and until she became the first woman I ever fell hard for. Our future together after graduation was supposed to be set: Professional football for me. Law school for her. But she left me at the end of the semester with no explanation, and then she completely disappeared from my life. Until tonight. We met on a Tuesday. Became everything, then nothing, on a Tuesday. And now it’s seven years later, on a Tuesday…

**This is a full length second chance romance, inspired by Adele’s “When We Were Young”**


PurchaseAmazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iBooks
Whitney G. is a twenty-eight-year-old optimist who is obsessed with travel, tea, and great coffee. She’s also a New York Times & USA Today bestselling author of several contemporary novels, and the cofounder of The Indie Tea–an inspirational blog for indie romance authors. When she’s not chatting with readers on her Facebook Page, you can find her on her website at http://www.whitneygbooks.com or on instagram: @whitneyg.author. (If she’s not in either of those places, she’s probably locked away working on another crazy story.) Don’t forget to sign up for Whitney’s monthly newsletter here: http://bit.ly/1p9fEYF

Release Blitz - The Queen by Skye Warren

Title: The Queen
Author: Skye Warren
Publication Date: September 19, 2017 
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

THE FINAL BOOK IN THE MASTERPIECE DUET! I have one chance at a new life. A college education. A future outside of Tanglewood's dark walls. For a breathless moment it seems like I might actually escape. Then I get a phone call from home. Damon Scott is my own personal dragon, the fight I've always lost, the secret hope of my heart. And he needs my help right now. Only my mind can solve the puzzle. Only my presence can keep him sane as the city fights against him. Only my heart can unlock a man with such a tragic past. This is my final gamble, with everything at stake. One last game to win a future for both of us. And a love strong enough to break the city apart. THE QUEEN is the final novel in the bestselling Masterpiece duet, about a game of lies and loyalty, of betrayal and power, and ascension to the city's throne.



Skye Warren is the New York Times bestselling author of contemporary romance such as the Chicago Underground series. Her books have been featured in Jezebel, Buzzfeed, USA Today Happily Ever After, Glamour, and Elle Magazine. She makes her home in Texas with her loving family, two sweet dogs, and one evil cat.


Monday, September 18, 2017

Release & Review - Royal Attraction by Tiffany Truitt

Image and blurb from Goodreads

Title: Royal Attraction
Author: Tiffany Truitt
Category/Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance
Publication Date: September 18th, 2017
Publisher: Entangled  (Embrace)
Alexandra Ryans’s life has been anything but normal. Some might even call it a fairy tale. As the daughter of the former U.S. ambassador to England, she grew up within the palace walls, best friends with the three young princes. Adored by the press and the British people. What more could a girl want?

If only the press knew the real story behind her relationships with the Dudley boys. Then, they’d really sell some papers.

Oliver Dudley, youngest son and third in line for the throne, loves everything about his life. The fame. The parties. The women. The utter lack of expectations and responsibilities that come with being last in the line of succession. But while the world thinks he has everything he wants, there's one thing he was never able to call his own—the beautiful and spunky American Aly Ryans. But how can he convince her when she hates everything about his life? And what is he willing to give up to get her?
 


Buy LinkAmazon

3.5 “Rebel Royal” Stars

ARC via NetGalley.

Thank you, Entangled (Embrace)!

This was a fun read, and a lot less "triangly" (I know that's not a word) than I thought.

I went into this book thinking I'd get a royal love triangle, and while there were some flashback scenes that showed a little of that, the scenes set in the present made it clear that the focus of the romance were Alexandra and Oliver.

The story starts with Alexandra, an American girl raised with the British royal family due to her father's friendship with the King, returning to England for a royal wedding. It's clear early on that she had feelings for two of the King's sons and that caused enough trouble between the brothers that she "ran away" to America.

For me, Alexandra was likable and relatable, despite being super rich and having been raised among royals. I liked that she was into sports (soccer fan here!) and wasn't interested in exposing her life to the media. Her voice was fun and young, and her reasons for staying away from the people she loved seemed valid enough.

Like I said, there are a lot of flashback scenes that showed Alexandra's friendship with the boys and how she began to develop feelings for them. I'm usually not a fan of this going back and forth thing, but it didn't bother me here. I actually liked seeing more of how Alexandra went from dreaming about the older brother (the one who would one day become King) to falling for Oliver, the youngest prince, who also happened to be the one mostly liked to embarass the British crown.


While Alexandra was a little more Pippa Middleton than Kate, Oliver was a lot like Prince Harry in his more troublesome years. The third in the line for the throne, Oliver didn't care too much about ruling, so he focused his energy on being the one the media wrote and talked about (we later learn he has good reasons for acting that way). For me, that made him more interesting, because he knew how to shake things up and make them more fun.

In fact, one of the things I enjoyed most about this story was how it made the "less princely" guy the love interest. He wasn't as well-behaved or serious as his older brother, or as smart as the one getting married, but Oliver had a lot going for him and it was obvious he was the right guy for Alexandra.

I also liked seeing a little bit of the friends to lovers trope I love so much, especially in the flashbacks. I was rooting for Oliver and Alexandra to end up together from the very start and I was happy to get that happy ending.
*If you liked this review (or not), if you read the book (or not), come say hello and leave your comments bellow.

Sunday, September 17, 2017

Book Blitz with Giveaway - Seeds of Intention (Hesse Creek Series #2) by Andrea Thome

Title: Seeds of Intention
(Hesse Creek Series #2)
Author: Andrea Thome
Genre: Contemporary Romance



Is it more important to have roots, or wings?


Garrett Oliver has just settled into his job as heir apparent to one of the most renowned master gardeners in the country. After a difficult few years, he’s found a home and a renewed purpose at a famed resort in the secluded Smoky Mountains. The stars seem to be aligning for Garrett as he plans a future with his college sweetheart and envisions a simple life with her in the mountains of East Tennessee.

Willow Armstrong, fresh off a painful breakup, is coming home to Knoxville to care for her ailing father. She finds herself in the right place at the right time, landing a dream job alongside Garrett—as his boss. As they are thrown together by their work, an undeniable magnetism grows between them, despite the fact that Garrett is ready to start a future with someone else. 

Circumstances persist in drawing them closer, and an unexpected opportunity in Colorado prompts Willow and Garrett to wonder if a life together out west might be beyond anything either of them had dared to imagine. 




I'm a former broadcast journalist, having covered both sports and news during my career. (That's how I met my husband; I interviewed him on MLB opening day in 1995, and the rest is history.) I temporarily retired when we had our children, so I could be home with them full-time while they're young. We have a fourteen-year-old daughter, a nine-year-old son, and two cats that we spoil rotten. 

This seemed like the perfect time in my life to jump back into doing something I love; writing and telling stories. No one was more surprised than me when I ended up with 65,000 words in my lap last spring! I called it Walland, and it was published in August of 2016. My second book, Seeds of Intention will be published on September 5, 2017, and as we speak, I've started to write a new book, the third in the Hesse Creek Series. 


In my spare time, I love photography and travel, preferably at the same time. My novels are inspired by favorite places I've traveled, each of which have left vivid footprints on my imagination. I believe a book can be steamy and sexy, while still keeping it classy. I also love to infuse my characters with great senses of humor. 






Follow the tour HERE for exclusive content and a giveaway!